Legacy Recordings Team 3 years ago • updated 2 years ago 0

Rock & Roll and R&B pioneer Johnny Otis, he of “Willie & The Hand Jive” and “Crazy Country Hop” fame, landed at Epic Records in 1970, releasing two records of big band R&B under the heading “The Johnny Otis Show.” “Cuttin’ Up,” the first of the two (the other was the 1971 double-set “Live At Monterey”) is a smokin’ set of modern funk, R&B and rock featuring vocal contributions from Delmar “Mighty Mouth” Evans and Sugarcane Harris, as well as a sizzling guitar instrumental, “Barrelhouse Blues,” from Johnny’s son Shuggie. All that and a cover illustration from Mad Magazine’s Jack Davis add up to a memorable musical adventure from the opening months of the seventies.

Available Now: Amazon | iTunes


The Watts Breakaway

Mo-Jo Woman

Barrelhouse Blues

Evil Gal Blues

It’s Good To Be Free

I Can Stand To See You Die

Don’t Stretch This Good Thing Too Far

Elim Stole My Baby

I Got The Walkin’ Blues

You Can Depend On Me

Double Crossing Blues

Cuttin’ Up